Women's Lacrosse

W&J’s Kallos and LaRochelle, Saint Vincent’s Nelson headline ECAC South awards

W&J’s Kallos and LaRochelle, Saint Vincent’s Nelson headline ECAC South awards

Nelson, Kallos, LaRochelle and Stuckel Headline DIII South Women's Lacrosse Major Awards and All-Stars (ecacsports.com)

DANBURY, Conn. (ohioriverlax.org) – The Eastern College Athletic Conference (ECAC) announced its 2017 Division III South Women's Lacrosse major award recipients and All-ECAC selections Tuesday and five representatives from the Ohio River Lacrosse Conference (ORLC) were recognized.

Saint Vincent College junior midfielder Maggie Nelson (Jefferson, Md. | Saint John's Catholic Prep.) was named the Division III South Offensive Player of the Year, while Washington & Jefferson College junior midfielder Caroline Kallos (Mohnton, Pa. | Governor Mifflin) was selected as the Division III South Defensive Player of the Year. W&J freshman attacker Rae LaRochelle (East Sandwich, Mass. | Sandwich) claimed Division III South Rookie of the Year honors.

Nelson and Kallos earned spots on the Division III South First Team, while LaRochelle was named a Division III South Second Team selection.

Nelson established single-season school records in both goals (86) and points (134) in 2017. Her 134 points currently lead all NCAA Division III counterparts, while her 86 goals rank fourth and her 48 assists rank 14th.

Kallos caused 62 turnovers, collected 96 ground balls while also recording 77 points on 56 goals and 21 assists this season for the Presidents.

LaRochelle’s 62 goals this season rank second in the ORLC while her total is just one shy of W&J’s single-season record. She is third in the league in points (79, second in W&J single-season history) and ninth with 17 assists.

Joining LaRochelle on the second team were W&J senior defender Katelynn Linthicum (Stewartstown, Pa. | York Catholic) and sophomore defender Allison Onslow (Erie, Pa. | Villa Maria Academy).

Kallos and Linthicum were named to the Intercollegiate Women's Lacrosse Coaches Association (IWLCA) All-West Region Second Team Friday.